The Silent Migration: Ngati Poneke Young Maori Club, 1937–1948

Paperback: $34.00
ISBN-13: 9781877266102
Published: May 2006

Additional Information

256 pages
  • About the Book
  • Finalist, Montana New Zealand Book Awards

    The Silent Migration records the remarkable beginnings of the Ngati Poneke Young Maori Club, the Wellington-based cultural group founded in the 1930s. Fifteen founding members provide warm, poignant and sometimes shocking stories of their upbringing, the move to Wellington, and their experiences during World War Two. An extensive selection of photographs depict the people and the times.

  • About the Author(s)
    • Patricia Grace, Author

      Patricia Grace is the first Maori woman to publish a collection of short stories (1975). Since then she has published three other short story collections, three award-winning novels, and several children's books. Her novel Dogside Story (UH Press edition, 2002) won the 2001 Kiriyama Prize for fiction. She is widely anthologized and translated into more than eight languages, and is considered not only one of the finest writers in New Zealand and the Pacific, but one of the most important writers of the post-colonial novel in English in the world today.
    • Jonathan Dennis, Author

    • Irihapeti Ramsden, Author

  • Supporting Resources